(Nick Lyle is the author of “One Last Look,” one of the selections for the first issue of Survival By Storytelling Magazine.)

How long have you been writing and what sparked your interest in it?
I started writing stories when I was in second or third grade, but I didn’t become serious until eighth or ninth. I don’t know what exactly sparked my interest in it. I think I’ve always been interested in telling stories.

Who are some of your favorite authors and what are some of your favorite books?
Some of my favorite authors include Stephen King, Orson Scott Card, John Steinbeck, Raymond Carver, and Nathaniel Hawthorne. My favorite books include pretty much everything I’ve read from those authors, as well as Catcher in the Rye, Written on the Body, and The Mayor of Casterbridge. I also like some fantasy and science fiction, but besides Harry Potter, none of my favorites are coming to mind.

What inspired you to write your story/poem? Where did it come from?
My friend was trying his hand at flash fiction, so my competitive nature drove me to write “One Last Look.” I’ve always liked dark fantasy, and the idea just came to me while I was lying in bed. I quickly turned on a light and wrote it down.

What advice would you give to any budding young writers out there?
Write often and don’t get discouraged. Take criticism to heart, but, again, don’t get discouraged. Teenagers rarely write masterpieces.

What, for you, makes a good story/poem?
I think a story relies mainly on character. I can sift through thick language and endure a plot that digresses and meanders as long as I feel something for the characters.

If you could bring any one person back from the dead, who would it be and why?
I can’t really think of someone who I’d raise from the dead. I don’t think a person risen from the dead would make for lively conversation anyway, seeing as he or she would probably be too preoccupied with his or her own death.

More interviews to come!  Make sure to check out the first issue of Survival By Storytelling!

