Full question: If you could bring back any one writer from the dead, who would it be and why?

For me, it would be Poul Anderson. He passed away not terribly long ago, but I credit him with further enhancing my interest in reading, studying, and writing science fiction (and fantasy). His short story “Call Me Joe” is still one of my favorite stories of all time.

So, if I could bring anyone back, even for a day, it would be him. I’d love to meet him, maybe pick his brain a bit to see what goes on in there and where all his ideas from, and figure out what he thinks about the world of today. Granted, this is all a little selfish. I wouldn’t want to bring him back to write the next great novel or anything like that (although that would be a lovely bonus); I would bring him back for me.

So, who would you bring back, and why?